Sandalan used to be called “Balindis,” which means diagonal in English. The name was supposedly given because the street which runs through the barrio “runs diagonally with the rising sun.” Regrettably, the source document failed to explain the etymology of Sandalan. The barrio was founded in 1832 and it had 48 families in all. During the early part of the Japanese occupation, Sandalan was momentarily the seat of the Provincial Government. Provincial officials evacuated to the barrio and held office in one of the houses there.

Sandalan is situated at approximately 13.8055, 121.1362, in the island of Luzon. Elevation at these coordinates is estimated at 104.2 meters or 341.9 feet above mean sea level.

Source: History and Cultural Life of the Barrio Sandalan

%d bloggers like this: